Title

Laura Bambrey Books

It's all about the books... News. Reviews. Interviews

Monday, 23 April 2018

Review: A Girl's Best Friend by Jules Wake

Ah guys – if the Monday blues have got you by the throat, I’ve got the perfect pick-me-up book to treat yourself to! And of course, if you’re bouncy and full of the joys of spring – then this is the perfect read for that too!!

This weekend, I binge-read A Girl’s Best Friend by Jules Wake and adored every moment of it. Full of warmth and humour, the story follows Ella as she takes a break from her hectic London life. Ella might not realise that she needs to unwind and heal her heart and soul- but the whole village, including Tess the dog, certainly do, and go about helping with all the subtlety of a rhino in full charge.

I loved the broken, spiky Ella. It felt like a real treat to walk beside her as she gradually unfurls, rediscovers herself and, ultimately, begins to heal. To begin with, she’s far from loveable- but the author depicts her fragility so perfectly that the glimpses of the real character underneath her hard carapace meant that I was rooting for her from the start. And fear not- she might begin to heal- but she becomes even more kick-arse as she goes!

Then of course, there’s Mr Grumpy himself, Devon the vet. Well, what can I say – PHWOAR! I know, I know- you have to get past the stroppy, moody, world-is-out-to-get-me part, but again, Jules Wake is clever enough to weave glimpses of his kindness and underlying lovely character, and it doesn’t take long for you to forgive the grumpy sod and start fantasising about running your hands through his lovely curly hair. Ahem!

The rest of the village is painted to perfection – from the gorgeous houses and surroundings to the way that everyone knows everything about everyone else- and you’d better think twice if you recon you’ll get away without mucking in and doing your bit.

Of course, I’ve barely mentioned the real heroine of the piece yet – the naughty, eat-everything-in-sight barrel-cross-dog that is Tess the Labrador. Without Tess, Ella just wouldn’t begin to heal. Without Tess, she wouldn’t have become part of the community so quickly. Without Tess- I wouldn’t have been sobbing my heart out!

This is a gorgeous novel, full of heart and a wonderful story. Packed full of lovely characters, wagging tails, and self re-discovery – it’s the perfect, uplifting read.

Grab your copy here:

Kindle:                          Paperback:                  Audible:

       


The Blurb:

Welcome to your new cottage in the country - complete with grumpy vet, village gossip and a very muddy dog...

City girl Ella wants to take refuge in the country, lick her wounds and work out what she's going to do with the rest of her life. She certainly doesn't want to have a four-legged house guest or anything to do with village life. Unfortunately, the inhabitants of Wilsgrave have other ideas.

Settling in to her godmother's house for a few months of R&R, Ella finds herself the reluctant babysitter of a badly behaved Labrador - and her plans of staying mainly indoors scuppered. But as she's forced into wellies and into the village's way of doing things, Ella meets people who make her think again about what she really wants out of life and love, starting with her new furry best friend...

A gorgeously romantic tale set in an idyllic countryside village, from the author of ebook bestseller Covent Garden in the Snow. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

No comments:

Post a Comment