Title

Laura Bambrey Books

It's all about the books... News. Reviews. Interviews

Sunday, 20 May 2018

Blogtour: Guest Post: Dreaming of St-Tropez by TA Williams


I'm thrilled to welcome the lovely TA Williams to the blog today as a part of his blogtour. Trevor is going to tell us about his latest book, Dreaming of St-Tropez, and why he believes it’s not a romance, but a love story.

So what’s the difference? What is romance and what is love?

The Cambridge English Dictionary definition raises an interesting question. In fact, I was very surprised to read this.

Romance – a close, usually short relationship of love between two people.
Usually short…? So are we to interpret this definition as romance being something fleeting that can come along and go again just as quickly? If that’s true, then I’m definitely not writing romance. When my characters fall in love, they fall in love. I’m not writing about short-lived infatuation. 

What does the same dictionary say about love?
Love – to like another adult very much and be romantically and sexually attracted to them, or to have strong feelings of liking a friend or person in your family.

Between you and me, I’m not crazy about this definition either. How about “I love doughnuts” or “I love puppies”? But, putting my niggles aside, let’s try to compare love and romance. You hear people talk about “putting the romance back into a relationship” as if, by simply chucking in a few bunches of flowers and a few boxes of chocolates, you can rekindle something that shouldn’t have died out in the first place. When I get to the end of any of my books, I don’t see the budding romance between the main protagonists as something transitory. In my head at least, I see it going the distance.

At this point, I’m afraid I need to get personal. I have had the great good fortune to experience love in my life. Apart from my parents, my daughter and my beloved Labradors, I had the great good luck almost fifty years ago (you have to remember, I am very old) to meet and fall in love with my wife. I was working in Italy, teaching adults English in the evenings and I fell foul of the occupational hazard of adult education – I fell in love with one of my students. Fortunately, she fell in love with me at the same time. This summer we will have been married for 43 years and that has to prove something. I can’t remember the last time I bought her flowers or chocolates – or vice versa – but that stuff is just superficial, the icing on the cake. Without a good solid cake underneath, there would be nowhere to put the icing.

Now I’m not claiming that 43 years of marriage makes me an expert on the subject, but just as I would never dream of sending the characters in my books skiing or windsurfing without having tried it myself, I would never presume to make them fall in love without having experienced it myself. Write about what you know.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not knocking romance. If Valentine’s Day cards and Prosecco are your thing, then I’m with you all the way. All I would say is that the romance in my books is definitely intended to go the distance – and that, in my estimation at least, means love.

Thanks so much Trevor for taking the time to visit us here today!

You gan grab your copy of Dreaming of St-Tropez here:

Kindle:

The Blurb:

The perfect summer escape on the French Riviera. Sun, sea and secrets…
After a disagreement with a billionaire, architect Jess Milton is ‘let go’ from her job. However fortune intervenes – an elderly client asks Jess to dog-sit overweight, but loveable dog Brutus in St. Tropez.

Fed up with the mega-rich, Jess is reluctant to visit the playground of billionaires, but an all-expenses-paid trip and the promise of sunshine seals the deal.

Little does Jess know how much time she’ll be spending with the family living in St. Tropez. The sullen, but very good-looking David and his millionaire father are both welcoming but guarded, haunted by their pasts…

Can Jess bring some sunshine back into their lives – and, just maybe, find love in the process?

A heart-warming, funny and emotional journey for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver.

About TA Williams

I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, "Dirty Minds" one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn't possibly comment. Ask my wife...

I've written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I'm enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. Romantic comedies are what we all need from time to time. Life isn’t always very fair. It isn’t always a lot of fun, but when it is, we need to embrace it. If my books can put a smile on your face and maybe give your heartstrings a tug, then I know I’ve done my job.
I‘ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away in south west England. I love the place. That’s why you’ll find leafy lanes and thatched cottages in most of my books. Oh, yes, and a black Labrador. 

I've been writing since I was 14 and that is half a century ago. However, underneath this bald, wrinkly exterior, there beats the heart of a youngster. My wife is convinced I will never grow up. I hope she's right.

No comments:

Post a Comment